The backup/restore feature lets you take a snapshot of all the configuration files and save them to a separate system for safe keeping. If a ClearOS system needs to be restored, you can re-install the ClearOS system and then restore all the configuration settings from the backup.
This feature is part of the core system and installed by default.
You can find this feature in the menu system at the following location:
<navigation>System|Backup|Configuration Backup and Restore </navigation>
The backup/restore settings tool does not save user data, logs or mailboxes. Use Remote Server Backup to keep your data safe. The remote server backup system is able to backup MySQL databases, mail stores, LDAP, file shares as well as specified files and directories. The solution takes all the complexity out of doing a backup and protects vital data from being lost.
There are no configurable options for this app
The backup/restore tool saves a rolling 10 days of all the configuration information available through webconfig including:
If you have installed third party applications on your system, you will need to take extra steps to save configuration data.
The backup is created automatically overnight.
systemctl start winbind.service systemctl enable winbind.service
If you still have problems please consult the Active Directory Connector Troubleshooting guide, especially the “wbinfo -t” section.
This allows you to restore a backup from any location accessible from your desktop.
This lists the last 10 archives which are still available on the server.
It is possible to do a command line restore following the instructions in the Knowledgebase article Restore Configuration Backup from Command Line.
During the restore procedure, the original network settings will be restored, but not activated. Consider this scenario:
The network settings are now in limbo. The restored network configuration is expecting to be connected as a gateway, but the system is temporarily running as a standalone system on your LAN. In this scenario, you will either need to put the system back into its role as a gateway, or, reconfigure the network.
If you restore into a new machine, almost certainly your Network Interface names will change so you will need to set them up again. You will need to re-input the 1-to-1 NAT, Network, DHCP Setver and ibVPN settings and, possibly, the Radius settings.